Marlin 336

1/26/14 @ 11:04 AM
ORIGINAL POST
PIKE-FAN
PIKE-FAN
USER since 8/4/09
I'm thinking of buying a Marlin 336 for next years deer season. What caliber would everyone recommend. I'm new to rifles being a shotgunner for most of my life. I'm considering the .30-.30, the .35 Rem and possibly the .45/70. I hunt small parcels of woods and almost all my shots would be under 200 yards.
Post Your Comment
Displaying 1 to 10 of 15 Posts
7/2/14 @ 10:24 PM
collegeboy
collegeboy
USER since 3/27/02
I just bought a scoped marlin 336 in .35 Remington. I have not had the chance to shoot it yet. .35 is supposed to be a great brush caliber. I have found that ammo is near impossible to find. I would buy new in .30-30 for availability to buy bullets. I would gladly sell you my 1976 version with 1.5 boxes of bullets.

Post Your Comment
5/15/14 @ 11:57 PM
Lectrotech
Lectrotech
USER since 11/19/09
I've got a .444 S Marlin, older gun, heavy but comes up quick. It hammers deer real hard but I wouldn't recommend beyond 200 yards even though accurate has not been an issue. I am using controlled expansion 240 grain .44 mag. bullets 1,000 fps faster than recommended (hand loads). It's just the way I roll.

Post Your Comment
5/13/14 @ 12:40 PM
WILD THING SPORT FISHING
WILD THING SPORT FISHING
USER since 5/31/05