TX - 44s

8/17/14 @ 1:48 PM
ORIGINAL POST
hntesox
hntesox
USER since 1/11/02
So here is my question. I have recently been bitten by a salmon bug and now I can't seem to stop. I am very new to this but I can see how much of a blast it can be. I have my traditional offshore walleye boards and they do work. HOWEVER, with 8-10 colors out they seem to lag back a bit. Do the tx-44s really run that much better as far as really keeping the bait closer to the boat with no lag? Or is it really not worth the $40 each? I already have 8 offshores, but if I need to get the 44's for 10 colors I will.
Post Your Comment
Displaying 1 to 10 of 23 Posts
2/2/17 @ 10:59 AM
Fish Hound
Fish Hound
USER since 1/29/02

Just use the Sam's Pro on the front and the OR-16 on the back. The Sam's Pro work well with superline backing and trip easy when you have them set correctly.

Never reel in a board that isn't tripped again and fight it over the top of other lines.

Post Your Comment
2/2/17 @ 8:15 AM
Grey Beard
Grey Beard
USER since 1/27/02

On my Off Shores that I run farthest from the boat I use the OR-16 (red with center pin) on the rear. On the front I use the OR-19s (orange, no pin). The OR-16 and OR-19 are the same heavy tension and adjustable. When smaller fish are around I will put a couple of loops of line in the pads of the OR-19 and that makes it easier to trip ie release. When seas are bumpy I don’t use the loops.

The new Off Shore SST Pro Mag Planer comes with the adjustable OR-18 on the front and a OR-16 on the rear. I experimented putting the OR-18 on the rear and the OR-19 on the front. I opted to put the OR-18 on the rear vs the OR-16 because of the size of the magnum boards. It pulled a full core just fine without a false release. This way I can trip my middle board and my outside boards.

Grey Beard

Post Your Comment
2/1/17 @ 4:00 PM
Fish Hound
Fish Hound
USER since 1/29/02

Check your PM's

Post Your Comment
2/1/17 @ 12:26 PM
svitreum
svitreum
USER since 8/29/06