USER since 5/18/11
what type of trolling reel is good to use on michigan
Post Your Comment
Displaying 1 to 7 of 7 Posts
2/16/17 @ 2:31 PM
Red Rider
Red Rider
USER since 6/26/01

Just some notes for anybody green at filling new core reels. 

On a 45/47 series size reel 10 colors will fit. start with 150 to 300 yds of power pro/ripcord. then add mono leaving 1 mm of spool depth for each color. ( i used woodstock for that measurement).

On a 30 series size same process but leave 1.5 mm per color. A 7 color packs real nice on a convector cv30.

save you doing the reverse fill process.

Post Your Comment
2/15/17 @ 6:15 PM
irishff
irishff
USER since 1/17/07
I have come to really appreciate the 6:1 gear ratio for retrieving leadcore. Tuna's reel troubles sells the Okuma Convector with custom 6:1 gears. I have been running them for 7 years now and love them.

Post Your Comment
2/10/17 @ 8:19 PM
svitreum
svitreum
USER since 8/29/06

I am picking up (5) 47LC Great Lakes trolling reels tomorrow and wondered if anyone has these with any opinions positive or negative. They are very gently used, in fact almost pristine. The Sealine reels are always very dependable, and these include the 5.1-1 gear ratio. I will be using them for leadcore. Thanks guys/gals.

Post Your Comment
4/26/15 @ 7:35 PM
YonkerS
YonkerS
USER since 1/28/13
As previously posted the Daiwa SG47LCA can handle most trolling applications from downrigger to diver to wire.

However it cannot hold a full core, so you need to look elsewhere for a reel for that setup.

I went with the SG47LCAs (I have 14) because I feel they are above average reel for a decent price.

Consider upgrading the SG47LCA's stock handle to an aftermarket power handle to increase torque.

Post Your Comment
4/26/15 @ 9:26 AM
BugleTrout
BugleTrout
USER since 9/27/01
I grew up using, and continue to catch fish with Penn 209's and 309's. It's hard to beat their reliability and price.

Post Your Comment
4/25/15 @ 2:34 PM
sslayer
sslayer