"SWR" and Leadcore

6/2/14 @ 11:16 AM
ORIGINAL POST
hntesox
hntesox
USER since 1/11/02
So I am pretty green at all this so bare with me. Does it make sense to rig all my downriggers with the SWR set ups? I mean why would it "NOT" be a good idea. I fish a small boat and 6 total rods out is about as much as will fit. I run 2 riggers 2 boards and 2 dipseys unless fish tell me different. Also, it is my understanding with leadcore and boards you would need a dedicated 3,4,5,6, etc for each set up. I'm only getting 2 for now and was thinking a 3 and 5 color to start. Sound right? Also, with a size 47 reel how in the heck do you know how much backing? I mean is it just a judgment and then hope you get it right? or is there a method to the madness? Again, I'm a rookie with this great lakes stuff. But it sure is a blast!
Post Your Comment
Displaying 1 to 10 of 21 Posts
6/9/14 @ 5:27 AM
quantumleap
quantumleap
MEMBER since 5/31/07
While the SWR riggers and 3 color leadcore boards are great setups,You might want a couple of mono setups in the boat for a couple of scenarios. We had good action with a spoon 125' behind the board (no weight) when we saw fish surfacing. Early morning King bite on riggers on mono rods with short leads (10 - 40 feet) when the SWR rods were dead. Cool

Post Your Comment
6/7/14 @ 8:55 PM
hntesox
hntesox
USER since 1/11/02
I have em, just haven t used em...

Post Your Comment
6/7/14 @ 8:02 PM
walleye27
walleye27
USER since 1/25/07
use torpedo snap wieghts

Post Your Comment
6/5/14 @ 9:02 PM
hntesox
hntesox
USER since 1/11/02
Gonna try lead for the first time outa port as its closer to me and the king buzz is sounding good. Amazing how just winding backing and 10 colors in the garage will pump you up! Trying a SWR for the first time too. Keep me informed off bender. I love it all.

Post Your Comment
6/4/14 @ 10:58 AM
hntesox
hntesox
USER since 1/11/02