Need Trolling Rod Advice

3/14/15 @ 7:49 AM
ORIGINAL POST
strubedog
strubedog
USER since 12/10/02
I am new to salmon fishing and setting up the boat for it. Will do down riggers, dipsey divers and leadcore. What rods do you recommend? Can I get 9' shimano tdr rods mh for everything?
Post Your Comment
Displaying 1 to 8 of 8 Posts
3/16/15 @ 11:26 PM
Aluma1
Aluma1
USER since 4/12/03
More small boat salmon guys are using 7 to 8 foot rods because of storage. dipsy rods still need to be fairly long and have allot of backbone. Dipsy put allot of stress on rods and are normally bent over allot thus the long rods. The ugly stick rods marked BWD work good for downriggers. You should fish with some leadcore planer board setups. Those are normally fished with rods that have large eyelets because of the knots. Ok uma makes some cheaper rods with large eyes. Shimono taloras that have the big silver eyes are great but more money. Search online for Dan Keating books. They will help you out allot starting out.

Edited on 3/16/15 11:31 PM
Post Your Comment
3/16/15 @ 6:46 PM
sslayer
sslayer
USER since 6/9/06
Hey strubedog, check your messenger, you have mail.

SS

Post Your Comment
3/15/15 @ 6:59 PM
hypovolemicshock
hypovolemicshock
USER since 6/20/11
I run 40# power pro for my dipsy rods and as backing for leadcore and copper. Riggers I use 20# big game. Debating respooling some rods this year and might buy some dyneema instead of power pro.

Post Your Comment
3/15/15 @ 7:29 AM
Tie1on
Tie1on
USER since 1/29/15
I happen to run all TDR rods. I DO NOT like the 9.5' for dipsey rods. The 8.5 work great for rigger rods. 80 pound power pro for Dipeys. 20lb Big Game on everything else.

Post Your Comment
3/15/15 @ 6:49 AM
strubedog
strubedog
USER since 12/10/02
Thanks for the responses.

What line do you use for downriggers?

What line do you use for dipsy rods?

Post Your Comment
3/14/15 @ 4:15 PM
hypovolemicshock
hypovolemicshock
USER since 6/20/11