Lake Michigan Trolling Tips and Tactics

6/23/02 @ 10:18 AM
ORIGINAL POST
Darin - Lake-Link
Darin - Lake-Link
MEMBER since 5/17/01
OK,

I am very new to the whole Lake Michigan trolling scene, did it a few times last year with little success. This year we are a little better equipped, but I still need to know some of the basics. Like typically how far behind the downrigger ball do you run the lure? How far behind a dipsy? A slide diver? What are the best trolling speeds? Still trying to figure out the whole dodger fly thing?!

I know these are pretty general questions, but I am just looking for some general guidlines. Also any "secret" tips or tactics would be greatly appreciated!

Post Your Comment
Displaying 1 to 10 of 996 Posts
8/26/17 @ 4:24 PM
JamesD
JamesD
USER since 2/16/04

Here's 30# copper tied with an Albright  with 30# mono wrapping copper on the top, and 15# flouro in the bottom knot.

Post Your Comment
8/12/17 @ 4:45 PM
JamesD
JamesD
USER since 2/16/04
The Albright is what I use for connecting poly line backer to lead core. Slide the dacron sheath back from the lead wire core and pinch several inches of it off to tie the Albright. Same thing goes for the Willis knot for the core to flourocarbon leader connection. This knot shows up on a search but is not in the Lake-Link library The pick shows two Willis Knots. The top one was smeared with a spot of silicone caulk.

Post Your Comment
8/9/17 @ 9:22 AM
JamesD
JamesD
USER since 2/16/04

I try to inspect and change knots before a lost fish lets me know it's too late. Here are some macro pics from my waterproof olympus of some of the ones that I use most....the first: a surgeons loop of fire line used doubled for tying an Albright knot around lead core. If I make the loop big enough I use the doubled line to serve as a place to put the planer board or clamp on extra weight.

Post Your Comment
3/1/17 @ 1:08 PM
teamstratos219
teamstratos219
USER since 9/4/06