Dipsey divers and planer boards

4/19/15 @ 11:37 PM
ORIGINAL POST
3boys
3boys
USER since 4/18/09
Evening gents, another newbie questions. Can you put any setup on a dipsie diver or only certain things. Ie: dodger and flashers, only to lures? Planer boards, can only certain setups with as well, ie: can you put dipsy divers on a planer board or only lures? Are these two set up specific, what works well on them. I did buy a planer board today to try for the first time. As many of you guys know, Im a trolling newbie,appreciate all comments and tips,tight lines gents.
Post Your Comment
Displaying 1 to 7 of 7 Posts
4/22/15 @ 9:18 AM
fishmunkee
fishmunkee
USER since 3/20/02
1/4 - 1 oz. You can use slip sinkers if you don't want to invest in keel weights.

Post Your Comment
4/22/15 @ 9:14 AM
Lund forever
Lund forever
USER since 1/21/08
What size keel weight do you recommend on the board rig with a 00 dodger and fly for Coho? Lund

Post Your Comment
4/21/15 @ 8:11 AM
John Schultz
John Schultz
USER since 3/14/14
I mostly run flasher/fly or brads cut plugs on my dipsys, but will sometimes run spoons, and will run plugs in fall. On my boards I stick to spoons or small dodger/fly on the shorter cores. On my bigger core setups and copper, I will run flasher/fly, brads, or spoons.

For full core and big copper, I run the TX-44 boards. Smaller core and short copper I run on the standard off-shore walleye boards.

(608) 225-2395
Post Your Comment
4/21/15 @ 7:46 AM
fishmunkee
fishmunkee
USER since 3/20/02
You can run a dipsy off a board but you need a pretty big board (i.e. TX-44) to pull it. Not a common set up but possible. I would not bother getting that complicated if just getting started.

Post Your Comment
4/20/15 @ 10:54 AM
Granpa
Granpa
USER since 2/4/05