Dispy Diver set-up

4/29/14 @ 6:30 PM
ORIGINAL POST
KTNJR
KTNJR
USER since 12/18/07
I have 16 footer deep V im setting up to do some fishing on the big pond. Im going to be running 4 dipsy diver rods. I would like to get down-riggers in a couple of years. In setting up dipsy divers, can you use dodgers or flashers after the dipsy diver or dont use them and just run the dipsy diver?
Post Your Comment
Displaying 21 to 27 of 27 Posts
7/11/17 @ 11:42 AM
ole 870
ole 870
USER since 6/27/01

Great advice guys. I too have a new boat and want to get set up to run with 4 dipsys. I have very little GL experience. I do not want to break the bank, so am looking for advice on what equipment I should look for that wroks well, but economically priced. I'm hearing that I should run 2 7.5' rods and 2 9' rods, but what type of rod holders and reels are good? What should I stay away from. What test of line should I be using? What size dipsy's and other hardware should I use if running 4? And lastly, can somone maybe post some pictures or pm me with some that show how to rig up the snubbers and all that jazz with these dipsys? Gotta make a list now so I can get rigged up in time for next year. thanks guys

Post Your Comment
6/21/17 @ 8:38 PM
nubbz07
nubbz07
USER since 12/31/09

yes I tried it last year with pretty good luck.the way i did it was big als hooked right on the dipsy, 4-5 leader to a spoon. never tied it with anything other than soons tho.

Post Your Comment
6/21/17 @ 5:38 PM
take em 26
take em 26
USER since 12/29/09

Has anyone clipped a al's rotating flasher directly to the dipsey? If so any success?

Post Your Comment
4/30/14 @ 8:31 AM
sloshkosh
sloshkosh
USER since 3/30/04
You want about 6 to 9 feet of 30 lb mono to the lure.