Can you ID this snake?

6/3/14 @ 5:33 PM
ORIGINAL POST
ol sarge
ol sarge
USER since 3/8/04
I was out in the yard today pulling up some grass netting that I had laid down to get the grass started when I found this snake tangled up in the netting. We do have a lot of ground squirrels so I am thinking this might be a rat snake but I am no expert. He is over 3 feet long which I think is pretty big for Wisconsin. He was dead when I found him. I live in rural Monroe county. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Edited on 6/3/14 5:34 PM
Post Your Comment
Displaying 1 to 10 of 16 Posts
6/18/15 @ 2:31 PM
phishin phool
phishin phool
USER since 4/5/08
Ok, here is my 2 cents worth. All ya'll are good however, my humble opinion is that the snake Ole Sarge is questioning is a corn snake. Very close to the milk but more yellowish. Only one more opinion for all ya'll to chew on. Wink

Post Your Comment
6/18/15 @ 2:26 PM
NRAguy
NRAguy
USER since 6/17/01
Thanks for your time Mr. Bass--I think that's it.

Post Your Comment
6/18/15 @ 1:48 PM
Mr.Bass1984
Mr.Bass1984
USER since 6/12/10
NRAguy- I am having a hard time finding that snake as well. My top guess would be a Western Terrestrial Garter Snake. It seems like the closest match of the 23 snakes found in Colorado. There are quite a few subspecies and juveniles and adults look a lot different. What makes me think it's that snake is the faint lines it has down its body. http://www.coloradoherping.com/western-terrestrial-gartersnake-thamnophis-elegans-colorado-snakes.html

Edited on 6/18/15 1:49 PM
Post Your Comment
6/18/15 @ 12:18 PM
duxup
duxup
USER since 8/5/05
Hard to tell from the pics. The markings are similar for both the milk and rat. If the belly is whiter it is a milk. Also, the head of the milk is just barely wider than the body, whereas the head of the rat is quite a bid wider.

Post Your Comment
6/18/15 @ 7:09 AM
NRAguy
NRAguy
USER since 6/17/01