Trapping Question

12/1/14 @ 3:56 PM
ORIGINAL POST
kjw1991
kjw1991
USER since 2/20/14
Just out a curiosity...I have zero experience with trapping, but over the gun deer season I nearly stepped on a trap...this is all on public land. I can only guess it was for coyotes or something bigger. Thankfully it was closed but it was obviously an active trap site. (the trap was still secured to a tree) My question is, does a trap of any size need to be marked in any way? I looked around to see if maybe there was tape on a tree branch or sign or something, and nothing. I know that the trap wont take my foot off or nothing but it sure would hurt like hell I'm guessing. I'm not mad at the trapper either way, its more just for my safety since it is so close to the trail I get to my stand on. Any info is appreciated. Thanks!!
Post Your Comment
Displaying 1 to 10 of 43 Posts
1/2/15 @ 10:23 AM
Trapper Jed
Trapper Jed
USER since 3/7/11
i think there was a hint of sarcasm in his post. He was referencing some one else on this thread

Post Your Comment
1/2/15 @ 6:32 AM
mike51098
mike51098
USER since 1/10/08
Hudson hawk...anything else we can do for you? Maybe no bowhunters where you hunt, maybe put a sign out on YOUR public land so we don't bother you.

Post Your Comment
12/31/14 @ 10:42 AM
Terrific_tom
Terrific_tom
USER since 6/9/08
darrink, Here is contact info:

Bryce Larson, WTA Statewide Trapper Education Coordinator Email: wctep@wistrap.org Tel: (920) 693-8734

Get in touch with Bryce he should be able to help you.

Post Your Comment
12/31/14 @ 9:03 AM
darrink
darrink
USER since 4/13/03
Does anybody know if there will be more than just two trapping classes this year put on by the DNR. I live in Waukesha County and was wondering if there is any other place to take classes.

Thanks

Post Your Comment
12/13/14 @ 12:36 PM
SFC S
SFC S
USER since 1/24/06