Forest County Deer Hunting

11/11/01 @ 5:18 PM
ORIGINAL POST
Pat
Pat
USER since 6/15/01
Does anyone else hunt Forest county north of Crandon? I have hunted this area for 40 years and there are very few other hunters. Most years I don't see another boot track in the snow the whole season. These deer are really dying of old age in alot of these areas. I manage to get a buck most every year. Pat

Post Your Comment
Displaying 41 to 50 of 677 Posts
12/3/16 @ 3:37 PM
olswampdog
olswampdog
USER since 10/6/04

Thanks Ybone, always good to hear from the boots on the ground crowd. What type of tree stand is your picture of?

Post Your Comment
12/3/16 @ 3:07 PM
YBONE
YBONE
USER since 2/11/02

I've been hunting northern Forest County near Alvin for 43 years. In that time my success rate is just under 50%. All bucks. Some nice but nothing huge. I spend a lot of time hiking, scouting, and trying to pinpoint the locations of the pockets of deer that ARE THERE. In recent years, in the 4 or 5 square miles that I consider my stomping grounds, there is NO PLACE that doesn't look like this. Highland hardwoods, swamps, oak ridges, old slashings, creek bottoms, everywhere there is favorable browse, it is mowed down by early fall. Just one non biologist opinion but from what I observe, the current habitat cannot support the type of deer numbers needed to make the average box sitter happy. My family logged in the area from the late 70s through 2004 when my Dad retired. I'm curious to know what a browse line on cedars does to benifit deer in winter. The deer can only reach so high, hence the line. I don't believe the cedar boughs regenerate much below the line.