Ice augers!

12/16/15 @ 12:37 AM
ORIGINAL POST
Jakobyy
Jakobyy
USER since 12/9/15
Alright I need to get an ice auger this year. I would like to keep it under 500$ if possible. What is the best or better company/ies that make ice augers. I know and have seen some real old jiffy augers that are still being used today. And I noticed the strike masters have Honda engines on them. But I really don't know much about them and never owned one. Few of my buddies have propane augers, but I don't think I would really want one I think I'm leaning more towards gas powered ones, but 2 or 4 stroke?? Wondering what experiences you guys have with augers or which ones you use/like. Thanks, Jakoby
Post Your Comment
Displaying 1 to 9 of 9 Posts
12/28/15 @ 7:50 PM
stl ken
stl ken
USER since 2/22/10
I'm New to ice fishing and the only auger I've used is the ION battery. It works great. Last year I would drill 20 holes through 18" + of ice with no noticeable power drop. No gas leaks and no ropes to pull. Starts first time every time.

Post Your Comment
12/28/15 @ 7:23 PM
JamesD
JamesD
USER since 2/16/04
It sounds like you're ready to invest. If you change your mind, get a 5-6 inch lazer hand auger. I started with a hand auger and caught fish. Now I'm glad I have both, because the hand auger still works so well with the early ice. The new power augers are nice and light too (and I'm not talking electric). Make sure you try lifting it up, see what jumps out at you. I picked the lightest weight gas auger at the time and I'm glad I did.

Post Your Comment
12/28/15 @ 2:03 PM
tiddies1981
tiddies1981
USER since 1/22/15
Power augers are 10 times better than manual augers. Spend less time drilling and more time fishing. I'd go with a power auger. Just my opinion.

Post Your Comment
12/28/15 @ 1:39 PM
Tim Zwieg
Zwiegs
USER since 1/10/12
It is the Ford/Dodge/Chevy deal, they are all good in one fashion or another.