dull electric fillet knife blades

3/12/14 @ 8:19 AM
ORIGINAL POST
onetogo
onetogo
MEMBER since 6/21/11
Does anyone know where to get electric fillet knife blades sharpened?
Post Your Comment
Displaying 1 to 10 of 14 Posts
7/28/15 @ 3:52 PM
ol sarge
ol sarge
USER since 3/8/04
Saw a set at Wal Mart the other night in the sporting goods department for 6 bucks. I think new is the way to go.

Post Your Comment
7/28/15 @ 5:37 AM
rikj
rikj
USER since 7/29/01
You can pay someone a few bucks to cut your grass and firewood and change your oil in your truck also if you like...........

Post Your Comment
7/27/15 @ 11:30 AM
Tim Zwieg
Zwiegs
USER since 1/10/12
For the few bucks that they cost, just pick up a new set.

Post Your Comment
7/25/15 @ 7:13 PM
rikj
rikj
USER since 7/29/01
This is the way I have been doing them for 30+ years. I take a 1" wide x 5" long X 3/16"wide hone stone(The width has to be less than the tip to tip dimension of the blade) and sand a radius on one edge with a belt sander. As you can see in the crude drawing I made you need to tilt the stone a little sideways to sharpen the full pocket (#2 on drawing). If you keep it at 90 Degrees to the blade you will only sharpen the bottom of the pocket(#1 on drawing). Almost all cutting is done with the tips of the blade(#3 on drawing). You also need to tilt the stone down a little to try to match the original sharpening angle. I start at one end of the blade and give each pocket a few strokes going away from me. When done with that I lightly hit the flat part of the blade with the flat part of the stone to remove any burrs that may have been raised. It is actually simple and takes only a minute or so to get them back to new condition. Also if you have more than one set you may want to keep them in pairs, the older they are the smaller the teeth may become after a few years and you could have a miss-matched set........

Post Your Comment
12/19/14 @ 9:55 AM
Otter Box
Otter Box
USER since 12/10/14