Boating with kids

8/7/15 @ 5:42 PM
ORIGINAL POST
John Q. Public
John Q. Public
USER since 8/1/12
Hello, I'm new at boating so I'm asking at what age do your kids not wear life preservers on inland lakes. We have a slow pontoon, a couple of kids can swim, a few cannot. Oldest is 12. Please let me know your thoughts. Obviously I know the safest way, but what is "reality". Thanks!
Post Your Comment
Displaying 1 to 10 of 24 Posts
8/13/15 @ 10:59 PM
2nd shift
2nd shift
USER since 8/7/15
This might work

Post Your Comment
8/13/15 @ 7:19 PM
Fishercreek
Fishercreek
USER since 10/2/05
Straight from the WIDNR link posted earlier: "All vessels (including canoes, kayaks, and paddleboards) must have at least one USCG-approved Wearable life jacket for each person on board."

USCG rules state that Inflatable life jackets aren't approved for any one under 16 years of age.

Post Your Comment
8/13/15 @ 3:50 PM
Ulbian
Ulbian
USER since 9/24/03
"WI rules different than USCG rules... ? so USCG only apply to federal waters... good to know the difference"

Yep, the most recent link shared are the USCG regulations which apply to federal waters. The one I shared was from the WDNR which also refers to federal waters but says nothing at all about the use of inflatables on inland waterways.

Post Your Comment
8/13/15 @ 3:01 PM
nihsif
nihsif
MEMBER since 6/15/01
WI rules different than USCG rules... ? so USCG only apply to federal waters... good to know the difference

Lake Michigan is federal.

Winnebago is considered federal, but they are either changing or trying to change that to WI

WI rule may be in tune with USCG regarding inflatables with the proper fit statement?

edit: after looking at inflatable vests, didn't find any child sizes, most are designed for someone over 80 lbs, and with a 30"+ chest

Edited on 8/13/15 3:07 PM
Post Your Comment
8/13/15 @ 9:45 AM
BigMusky12
BigMusky12
USER since 12/22/04
Post Your Comment
8/13/15 @ 9:36 AM
SJB
SJB
USER since 7/16/01