LAKES
REPORTS
FORUMS
TRAVEL
DEALS
SEARCH
MORE
Fishing Equipment

Transducer mounting on 14ft aluminum boat! Help me!!!

5/14/19 @ 8:34 PM
INITIAL POST
jfoss82
User since 5/13/06

Hi everyone,

A few weeks back I picked up a nice little fishing boat. I also just got a new Humminbird Helix 7 w gps/si/di. I am new to the side imaging and have no idea where to mount the transducer. Surely I can’t be the first one to do this?!? Does anyone have any tips, or pictures of their install on a similar boat to mine. It’s a 70s Mirrocraft, 14ft. Any help you might have would be awesome.  

Transducer mounting on 14ft aluminum boat! Help me!!! photo by jfoss82
Displaying 1 to 14 of 14 posts
4/12/20 @ 6:22 PM
Mcjimmis
Mcjimmis
User since 1/27/20

Jfoss, 

Did you get everything hooked up and working good? I got a new unit with SideVü but the transducer is a monster and I’m thinking I’ll have issues with the lower unit being in the way for side scanning. 

I have a small 14’ boat so the 15hp outboard sits close to the stern. I’d most likely have to trim to the top hole but not sure if that’ll be enough. 

Hoping to see how your project went. 

Thanks 

James 

5/26/19 @ 5:37 PM
marvin1965
marvin1965
User since 6/19/15

I have a  Garmin 73sv  on a Portable Transducer Bracket  I've  contacted Garmin last year had no down or side imaging .. I talked to them on the water  ect….. Garmin  replaced the unit  at the end of fishing season  This year same issues  I was wondering is the Portable Transducer Bracket  the problem.. 

I don't think I've ever had Down or side imaging that worked well  didn't really get to test the new unit  any thoughts

The  traditional  part works great!!!!

5/20/19 @ 10:22 AM
nihsif
nihsif
PRO MEMBER User since 6/15/01

google transducer mounting board, you'll get an idea of what's been suggested, plus some youtube examples

transducer mounting board

5/19/19 @ 9:41 PM
wiscoarborist
User since 11/6/18