MORE
Canadian Reports/Discussion

LOTW Kenora/Ash Rapids

7/6/18 @ 7:41 AM
INITIAL POST
BirdDog815
BirdDog815
User since 3/11/17

Any reports on water level? I have been heading up that way for the last several years. I stay at Ash Rapids Lodge and fish Ptarmigan Bay and Shoal Lake area.  Usually do pretty good. The Smallmouth fishing is phenomenal and have a hard time finding Walleye small enough to clean.

Will be up that way the 14th thru the 21st. Anybody been fishing that area?

Displaying 1 to 6 of 6 posts
8/21/18 @ 4:26 PM
jld
User since 1/21/04

Thanks Ken.  PM sent.

8/21/18 @ 7:47 AM
Fireman Ken
User since 6/14/13

JLD,  heading up to the same area this weekend for a week.   I heard the fish were in the weeds last week, but that was last week.   From past years up there you need to fish everything.  Rocky shorelines & points, reefs, sandy beach areas and weeds when you can find them.  Different sizes of bucktails, minnow/crank baits, surface lures, jerk baits.   Mostly shallow lures, but bring a few deep divers in case the fish have moved deep.  

Good luck.

8/18/18 @ 12:20 PM
jld
User since 1/21/04

Heading up to LOW for the first time.  Will be in the Morson area.  Any tips for walleye/perch/lake trout would be appreciated.  Depth, presentation, bait...etc.  Anything to speed up the learning curve. 

8/6/18 @ 6:32 AM
BirdDog815
BirdDog815
User since 3/11/17

We had a good trip this year BuicketMouth. Check you PM.

Plenty of walleye and smallmouth. the water is generally pretty clear in our area. We spent a day east and south of camp 15 miles or so and the water was a bit darker but the fishinf was good also.

7/10/18 @ 11:29 AM
BucketMouth123
BucketMouth123
User since 5/6/16

BD,