Fishing reports and lake information for Minnesota, Michigan, Wisconsin, Illinois, Ohio, Indiana, North Dakota and South Dakota

Drain Plug Installation - Inside or Outside?

Sort posts by date: Descending Ascending

Original Post:

mjbailey
mjbailey
Level: General User
3/30/08 11:35 AM CST
I am new to the boating world and have a 14' aluminum boat with a 9.9hp motor. What, if any, is the correct way to install your drain plug? I figured that if you installed it from the inside, if it were to fall out you won't lose it. I did tie a small rope to the drain plug and also to the boat figuring if it ever did fall out I wouldn't lose it. I just didn't know if there was a proper way or it didn't really matter. I looked through the previous forums and didn't see this issue addressed. Thank you for your input, it IS appreciated. -mj Tight lines and big fish.

alaska123
See Profile
4/1/08 10:02 AM CST
I used to keep my plug on the outside until I accidentally sunk my boat one day. I was in Alaska deer hunting and I had a plug with a handle on the outside. When we deer hunt we usually will anchor our boat offshore in about 10 to 15 feet of water. Since the tide rises and falls up to 30 feet every 6 hours, at some point your boat will be high and dry. When I came back to the boat it was no where to be seen. After looking closer all I cold see was the blue canopy. When we got the boat home (long story) the plug was missing. All we could think that happened is that when the water started coming back in the handle on the plug hit a rock and the plug fell out. So from now on i always have the plug in inside.

FISHEAD
See Profile
3/31/08 9:23 PM CST