MORE
Boats & Motors

WI resident buying a boat in IL

1/17/18 @ 6:08 PM
INITIAL POST
muskytracks
muskytracks
User since 4/5/11

I'm a Wisconsin resident and buying a boat from a dealer in Illinois.  Do I pay Illinois sales tax or do they fill out a tax exempt form and I pay tax to Wisconsin when I register it?  I know if I pay tax in Illinois I won't have to pay it to Wisconsin too.  Just trying to save a few bucks and give the government as little money as possible.

Displaying 1 to 12 of 12 posts
1/21/18 @ 4:44 PM
One shot one kill
User since 8/12/02

If is a private sale , you just pay sales tax in Wi when registering  ?

1/20/18 @ 5:36 PM
Pool8
User since 1/27/17

I thought it was reciprocal last time i was shoping for one since i lived in wisconsin that was the tax i had to pay 5.5 instead of 7.5 but its been a few years mite hav changed

1/20/18 @ 4:53 PM
Tuffy2
User since 7/7/04

Apparently their law has changed over the years. I bought four new boats from a dealer in Chicago and did not pay any tax. I paid the taxes, title and licensing fees to Wisconsin when I registered it. They gave me a title of origin for the trailer, but I did not have to register it in Wisconsin due to the weight.

Unfortunately you would have only had to pay 5.5% in Wisconsin. Maybe they adjust that when you register it here, or you can claim the overage on your state income taxes.

1/19/18 @ 4:02 PM
bwankowski
User since 5/5/14

I bought a boat two years ago out of Illinois and it is easy. They collect tax when you send your reg. in for WI send old title and mark paid tax to out of state. DONE!!!!!

Do you have to reg. your trailer also?

I remember having the 7 day trailer plate to get it out of Illinois.

1/19/18 @ 3:00 PM
Highthrust
PRO MEMBER User since 1/21/13

Your dealer just wanted it easy for him. If the boat is delivered to WI you do not have to pay IL tax. If you take delivery in IL you will pay the tax. Just went through it myself a few months ago.

1/19/18 @ 10:49 AM