converting points to electronic ignition

7/6/14 @ 10:54 AM
ORIGINAL POST
hypovolemicshock
hypovolemicshock
USER since 6/20/11
I have a 350 chevy in my boat that currently has points. My friend gave me a new distributor to drop in but I haven't been able to figure out all the details of the change yet. Any pointers? Do I just remove the old distributor and drop the other one in? I have done some mechanical work in the past so I have some knowledge it is just more the wiring that I don't want to mess up.
Post Your Comment
Displaying 1 to 5 of 5 Posts
7/7/14 @ 11:19 PM
centralwiwalleyeslayer2
centralwiwalleyeslayer2
USER since 2/15/10
just never assume parts are good have had several new parts that didnt work

Post Your Comment
7/7/14 @ 11:42 AM
sslayer
sslayer
USER since 6/9/06
Yes Marine grade is generally speaking a higher quality component. But a distributor isn't any different. The cap and rotor though could be marine rated.

Anytime you buy replacement parts for your boat I recommend the highest quality you can afford. But you will get charged more at the marine dealer than at the local auto parts store. A distributor cap with copper contacts is the best. For points and condenser buy Blue Streak. For plug wires a good quality silicone high temperature set. Don't cheap out on parts. If you're doing the work yourself you're saving about $100/hr.

I'll never forget going to buy a replacement fuel pump for my Mercury branded Chevy engine. The marine dealer wanted $250 for a fuel pump with a length of rubber hose. The auto parts stored wanted $15 for the fuel pump and less than $1/foot of fuel hose. Guess it must cost Mercury a lot of money to package their parts.

Good Luck

SS

Post Your Comment
7/7/14 @ 8:24 AM
hypovolemicshock
hypovolemicshock
USER since 6/20/11