SEARCH
MORE
Boats & Motors

90 hp Johnson

3/21/16 @ 7:52 PM
INITIAL POST
godevil
User since 2/7/12
I'm having trouble with the motor at high speeds it starts to cut out if I lower the rpms it smooths out and runs fine any ideas on what the problem may be? Thanks in advance.
Displaying 1 to 9 of 9 posts
3/23/16 @ 11:41 AM
GoldenRules
User since 10/29/13
It is either a fuel or spark problem. You know you have fuel and spark because the engine runs. The question is which one of them is not at the appropriate levels at the full throttle position. First I would try cleaning the carb. It sounds like you may have a main jet that is plugged. The main jet meters your fuel from the 1/2 to full throttle position. That is a cheap and easy fix. If that doesn't work I would check your fuel pump or ignition(spark) system. You may have a fuel pump or powerpacks that are starting to fail. Just my 2 cents, I am not a mechanic put have experienced these problems on my sleds and outboards and these were the fix.
3/23/16 @ 8:59 AM
lakeshiner
lakeshiner
User since 7/20/09
Sounds like an old motor of mine that sat unused for a while and the carb got gunked up. It would start and go a little, but full throttle would kill it.
3/22/16 @ 5:43 PM
BugleTrout
BugleTrout
User since 9/27/01
I had a similar issue with an older Mercury. Ended up being the screen in the carb. It got gunked up with particles/sludge over the years and needed to be flushed out. Of course it decided to act up 7 miles out of Kewaunee but it got me home. Just took a long time at 1/4 throttle.
3/22/16 @ 5:37 PM
Brent Hess
Brent Hess
PRO MEMBER User since 12/18/07