My goal for this year

6/18/15 @ 9:35 AM
ORIGINAL POST
Scott2
Scott2
USER since 7/7/01
I want to kill a deer with my dad's old recurve. He let me and my sister shoot it at targets behind our house in the city when we were little. He doesn't bowhunt, but I want to prove to him that I can kill a deer effectively with the very same bow. It's not irresponsible as it has a 35 lb draw weight and I've been shooting with it for at least 3 months and plan to shoot daily until bow season. I've told him of this goal and he thinks I'm crazy, but I'm getting pretty darn good with it and it does offer a decent amount of penetration. I won't take a shot over 15 or so yards with it, but I think it's a realistic goal. I respect deer more than anyone I know and this isn't entirely about proving a point, it's because I truly want to take a deer with a recurve and it would make it all the more special if it was with the one my dad unknowingly opened me up to the awesome world of bowhunting with. To add, I think I've added some draw weight to what the bow states on account of I'm 6'2" and am pulling hard on that old bow, I may be wrong, but it sure drills into my bag target.
Edited on 6/18/15 9:40 AM
Post Your Comment
Displaying 1 to 9 of 9 Posts
6/22/15 @ 7:04 PM
chuckc
chuckc
USER since 3/21/14
Hunting off the ground was the only way it was done years ago, and frankly, I do most of my hunting off the ground. My doe last year was killed at 5 paces, off the ground, no pop up blind, with a 74# Hill style longbow. You can do it. As a matter of fact, in that area you speak of, the ground would be my absolute first choice, especially since nobody else will be there to screw it up !