has this happened to you and what would you do

8/20/14 @ 3:50 PM
ORIGINAL POST
AO
AO
USER since 8/1/01
I've been hunting same small private woods for 12 yrs and set up a stand in same spot every year. Last year in mid October another hunter whom got permission started tromping the woods and set a stand up close to one of mine. This yr I got out to put a stand up in usual spot and a ladder stand wasn't 20yds from my normal spot. I'm guessing he saw it last yr and got out before me to take the spot. Just wondering thoughts. To me it would have only been respectful to ask other hunters about there intentions especially because I've been hunting there 12yrs and he knew I was out there from last yr.
Post Your Comment
Displaying 1 to 10 of 18 Posts
8/24/14 @ 3:14 PM
musky nut
musky nut
USER since 7/20/12
str8shot, thats hillarious!!

Post Your Comment
8/22/14 @ 2:50 PM
the_dude
the_dude
USER since 1/10/03
The only resolution here is to try to work something out with the other hunter. Hunting is likely going to be decent for both of you, or crappy for both of you. I'd do everything I could do make it the former.

A few years ago I was walking into my stand on my 10 acres and was confronted by a hunter that was hunting near the property line on the neighbors. I was also walking the property line to get into my stand, but I was on my side of the line. He was pissed, but he calmed down when I explained who I was and that I wasn't trespassing. That night, I took a different route back to the house, then waited for him to get to his truck. I explained that I thought he was hunting a different area, and he said he usually did. We came up with a plan that based on where he parked his truck, I would know which area he was hunting. We also worked out how if I was out hunting before he got there how he would know, so he could stay out of the area. It worked out well, and we didn't ruin each other's hunts.

Post Your Comment
8/22/14 @ 2:18 PM
AO
AO
USER since 8/1/01