It is illegal to be in possession of a gun or firearm in Wisconsin if you've been convicted of a previous felony. The penalties can be severe if you are found guilty. The law states that you are guilty of the charge if they can prove that:
The person has been convicted of a felony in Wisconsin, has been convicted in another state of a crime that would be a felony if committed in this state, has been adjudicated delinquent on or after April 21, 1994 of a crime that if committed by an adult in Wisconsin would be a felony, has been found not guilty by reason of mental disease or defect of a felony in Wisconsin, found not guilty by reason of insanity or mental illness in another state, has been committed for treatment under § 51.20 (13) (a) and ordered not to possess a firearm under § 51.20 (13) (cv), or has been enjoined under an injunction pursuant to § 813.12 or § 813. 122 That person possessed a firearm The maximum penalty for being a felon in possession of a gun on firearm under Wisconsin laws is 10 years in prison and a $25,000 fine, which is a class G felony.
Wisconsin Defense Strategies - Unlawful Possession of a Gun or Firearm Depending on the fact of the case, the typical defenses for a firearms possession charge are 1) can they prove that you were actually in possession of the gun, or 2) did they have a legitimate legal basis for when they found the weapon in your possession. I'll need to do a thorough examination of the police report and any other evidence against you before I would suggest exactly what the best way to fight these charges might be.
Free Consultation on Wisconsin Burglary
[This post was last edited on 8/24/06 at 8:48 PM]