SEARCH
MORE
Archery

Decoying Bucks

10/17/15 @ 10:20 PM
INITIAL POST
lovestofishnhunt
PRO MEMBER User since 6/13/06
Anyone use decoys to attract big bucks? I was sitting out on our land this evening (Oct. 17) and two big bucks were already chasing does. The problem is that they were chasing on our neighbors food plot. I am hunting a tree line with corn on our side. I can't tell you what is in the neighbors plot; it just looks like weeds to me but the deer sure love to eat and hang out in it. I've seen 4 dandy bucks already, but they are always on the neighbors side. Any suggestions? I've never used a decoy before, but I am willing to give it a shot if it has potential.
Displaying 1 to 12 of 12 posts
10/20/15 @ 9:02 PM
Fish Sandwich
User since 8/30/10
I've decoyed a lot and have never pulled a buck from a doe. I don't think it's possible. I use a big buck (boss). It intimidates most bucks but I could care less because they are too small anyway. When one mature enough confronts the boss you know it's time to stand up. I always face the decoy to my tree. They come around to the head every time and present themselves broadside. From my experience you're wasting your time with a decoy in the evenings. For whatever reason they want to fight in the morning and f*** in the evenings. I guess I'm not all that different myself. Good luck
10/20/15 @ 8:46 PM
kill'n time
User since 7/14/09
Here is one from last year very late October. Kind of bad pics from a cell phone, but he might have been a 3.5 year old and made two laps around the buck decoy. I think buck decoys work better now and doe decoys in a few weeks. Pretty sad looking decoy, and only tried once, but seemed to work good.
Decoying Bucks photo by kill'n time
10/20/15 @ 7:36 PM
The Fishinnut
The Fishinnut
User since 8/11/10